Skoda's dramatic winner in 2017's Cup opener

Pine Rivers United won the first Westfield FFA Cup game of the 2017 competition.
Marc Skoda of Capital League 2 side Pine Rivers wrote his own headlines in Brisbane with a winner in time added on to break Narangba United hearts in Australia's first Westfield FFA Cup preliminary tie of 2017 last night.

With extra time looming, the Predators from Pine Rivers overcame their lower division opponents from the Capital League 3. 

Skoda's header off a corner ensuring progression with a 2-1 win  at Narangba Sporting Complex in Brisbane on Thursday night. 

Team line-ups

Narangba Utd: 1. Daniel Skinner. 3. Shamus Crowley. 4.  Ethan Wilson 6. Brigham Hikaiti 7. Aaron Warburton. 10. Kieron Greene.  11. Joshua Wilson.  13. William Holland. 14. Andrew Di Michele 15. Mitchell O Keefe.  16. Toto Hompa  

Subs  5. Jake Turner.  8.  Callum Bailey  9.  Shannen Waldock  12.  Chris Gararotto.

Pine Rivers Utd: 1. Byron Hope. 2. Tom Emes.  3. Joel Turner.  4. Nick Stucky.  5. Bronson Fenech.  6.  Mitchell Rowse.  7.  Mark Skoda.  8. Kieran Radnedge.  9.  Jarrod Burton.  11.  Samuel Deck  18. Samuel  Middleton.  

Subs.  12 Matthew Broadhurst.  13. Jorden Cumberbatch.  14.  Robert Randle. 15.  Nick Hurst.  16. Carl Morandy

For more on the game:

Images courtesy of Yvonne Packbier - MMM Photography.