648 the magic number for Westfield FFA Cup 2015

The total number of clubs competing in the second edition of the Westfield FFA Cup has been finalised while there is also new hub to find out all of the Preliminary Round results.

The final tally of clubs entering the Westfield FFA Cup in 2015 is 648, comprising 638 semi-professional and grassroots clubs competing in the inaugural Preliminary Rounds before all ten Hyundai A-League clubs enter the fold in the Final Rounds commencing in late July.

While a number of entrants have already come and gone in the Preliminary Rounds, having 638 entrants from across all four corners of the country highlights the excitement the Westfield FFA Cup has created and the appetite for knockout Cup football at all levels in Australia.

Victoria boasts clearly the highest number of entrants in the Preliminary Rounds with 191 clubs, 158 of which are grassroots clubs who are dreaming of a magical Cup run similar to that of the self-proclaimed ‘pub team’ South Springvale last year.

The second highest number of entrants is 125 in Queensland, while at the other end of the scale is the Northern Territory, which in its first year has 14 entrants, ten from the Top End and four from the Red Centre.

Geographically, the breadth of clubs competing is something to behold with every state and territory represented. The list includes clubs from Geraldton in Western Australia, Cairns in far north Queensland, Mt Gambier in South Australia’s south east, Wodonga in regional Victoria as well as the Borroloola Cyclones from the remote Northern Territory outpost some 1,000km south east of Darwin.

At the time of writing, 208 matches have been played. All but four of the nine Member Federations have commenced Preliminary Round competitions while Football NSW kicks off its matches this weekend, Football Federation NT at the end of the month, and Football Federation South Australia and Capital Football starting in early April.

The ten Hyundai A-League clubs will again enter the fray in the Final Rounds, with the four semi finalists from the Hyundai A-League 2015 Finals Series to face Member Federation opponents while the remaining six clubs will be pitted against fellow Hyundai A-League opposition in the Round of 32.

This year, keep track of all results from the Preliminary Round matches across the nation by visiting the new results hub at http://results.theffacup.com.au.

Click here for a full list of competing clubs in 2015.

Club breakdown

Member Federation NPL Grassroots Total
Capital Football 8 10 18
Football NSW 24 80 104
Northern NSW Football 9 69 78
Football Federation Northern Territory 0 14 14
Football Queensland 11 114 125
Football Federation South Australia 24 5 29
Football Federation Tasmania 8 10 18
Football Federation Victoria 32 159 191
Football West 11 50 61
TOTAL 127 511 638