Adelaide United 2 - Sydney FC 1

Adelaide United 2 (AET)

(Sanchez 41’, McGowan 114’)

Sydney FC 1

(Grant 16’)

Adelaide United inflicted FFA Cup heartbreak on Sydney FC for the second year in a row, Dylan McGowan scoring deep into extra-time to send the reigning champions through to the last eight.

Scores were locked at 1-1 at the end of full-time after Pablo Sanchez cancelled out Rhyan Grant’s stunning long range strike in the first-half.

Grant opened the scoring with a delightful finish, the Sky Blues utility spotting Eugene Galekovic off his line and beating the goalkeeper with a perfectly weighted dink from distance.

The goal spurred Adelaide into action and their endeavour was rewarded when Cirio went on a darting run down the left flank and crossed across the face of goal for Pablo Sanchez to turn home from close range.

However Marcello Carrusca was the hero for the home side, providing a whimsical rabona assist for McGowan to fire home the winner, the Reds finishing the game with 10 men after McGowan was shown a red card in the final few minutes.