Canberra Olympic out to continue dream Westfield FFA Cup run

Westfield FFA Cup fever has gripped the nation’s capital as local club Canberra Olympic prepares to take centre stage and represent the region when they do battle with Hyundai A-League heavyweights Sydney FC for a spot in the Westfield FFA Cup Final at Viking Park on Wednesday night (19 October 2016).

A bumper crowd is expected for the first of the Westfield FFA Cup Semi Finals, which will be broadcast LIVE and exclusive on FOX SPORTS (Channel 505) from 7pm AEDT, at the same venue that saw over 5,000 people pack in for the Round of 16 match between Tuggeranong United and Melbourne Victory in 2014.

The only second tier club left in this year’s competition, Canberra Olympic became the first Member Federation club outside of Victoria in three years to reach the Westfield FFA Cup Semi Finals after they defeated Green Gully in the Quarter Finals courtesy of a dramatic last minute penalty from inspirational captain and goalkeeper Angelo Konstantinou.

Konstantinou, who is also a goalkeeper for Australia’s national futsal team the Futsalroos, has become a cult figure for the ACT side due to the famed tracksuit pants he wears in matches, while he has also scored two crucial goals to help Canberra Olympic reach the last four.

Impressively, Canberra Olympic are yet to concede a goal in the Westfield FFA Cup Final Rounds but the challenge of keeping a fourth straight clean sheet is a momentous one as they face a Sydney FC side that has scored four goals in each of their opening two Hyundai A-League matches.

Canberra Olympic.

The Sky Blues are brimming with confidence and Canberra Olympic will have their hands full trying to contain an attacking threat comprising new Brazilian striker Bobo, Slovakian international Filip Holosko, Milos Ninkovic, Alex Brosque and co.

Sydney FC have also been impressive at the other end of the pitch as, similarly to Canberra Olympic, they are yet to concede in the Westfield FFA Cup this year in victories over Wollongong Wolves, Perth Glory and Blacktown City.

Canberra Olympic have not had a competitive hit out since their Quarter Final triumph over Green Gully on 27 September, but despite their lack of matches leading up to the clash, the prospect of facing one of the Hyundai A-League’s biggest clubs is more than enough motivation and incentive for Coach Frank Cachia’s team.

All three of Canberra Olympic’s victories, over Surfers Paradise Apollo (Round of 32), Redlands United (Round of 16) and Green Gully (Quarter Finals), have been at their home ground of Deakin Stadium.

Their run of consecutive home matches is similar to that of last year’s semi finalists Hume City who were also drawn at home for all of their Cup ties.

If Canberra Olympic can find the back of the net against Sydney FC, the club will earn $2,500 for each goal they score courtesy of the NAB Golden Goals initiative.

The match will also be broadcast LIVE on 666 ABC Canberra, Grandstand Digital, online & via the ABC Radio Mobile App.

Westfield FFA Cup 2016 Semi Finals – Match Day 1

Canberra Olympic v Sydney FC

Wednesday 19 October 2016

Viking Park, Wanniassa

Kick-off: 7:30pm local (7:30pm AEDT)

Referee: Chris Beath

Assistant Referee 1: Allyson Flynn

Assistant Referee 2: Owen Goldrick

Fourth Official: Luke Withell

Tickets: Click here for ticketing details

TV Broadcast: 7.00pm (AEDT) Live and exclusive on FOX SPORTS 4 (Channel 505)

Radio Broadcast: 666 ABC Canberra, Grandstand Digital, online & via the ABC Radio Mobile App

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tags #COLvSYD #FFACup

Canberra Olympic squad: 1.Angelo Konstantinou (gk), 2.Tim Bobolas, 3.Josh Calabria, 4.Daniel Colbertaldo, 5.Phil Yarnold, 6.Jeremy Habtemarium, 7.Patrick Ross-Magee, 8.Bernard Rene, 9.Philippe Bernabo-Madrid, 10.Robbie Cattanach, 11.Michael Reeve, 13.Ben Basser-Silk, 15.Tom McLachlan, 16.Adam Neou, 17.Nicholas Bobolas, 18.Jordan Tsekenis, 19.Joel Valtonen, 20.Jack Pettit (gk), 23.Oliver Wiederkher, 24.Daniel Giovinazzo

Sydney FC squad: 1.Vedran Janjetovic (gk), 2.Sebastian Ryall, 4.Alex Wilkinson, 5.Matthew Jurman, 6.Josh Brillante, 7.Michael Zullo, 8.Milos Dimitrijevic, 9.Bobo, 10.Milos Ninkovic, 12.Aaron Calver, 13.Brandon O’Neill, 14.Alex Brosque, 17.David Carney, 18.Matt Simon, 20.Danny Vukovic (gk), 21.Filip Holosko, 23.Rhyan Grant, 24.Charles Lokoli Ngoy, 29.Bai Antoniou