Cup fever ramps up with Friday’s draw

The excitement and intrigue of the inaugural Westfield FFA Cup goes up another level on Friday with the draw for the Round of 16 to take place at 5.15pm AEST at Fox Sports studios in Sydney.

With the 16 clubs finalised last night following the final two Round of 32 matches, the draw for the Westfield FFA Cup Round of 16 will determine each club’s opponent in the next stage as well as the eight clubs who will get to play at home.

Still standing in the Round of 16 includes four Hyundai A-League championship clubs, an AFC Champions League finalist, plus five previous NSL championship winners.

The draw principles for the Round of 16 will see the remaining clubs all numbered with the six Hyundai A-League clubs in Pot A and the ten Member Federation clubs placed in Pot B.

To fulfil the Westfield FFA Cup regulations that stipulate that at least one non Hyundai A-League club must reach the semi finals of the competition, the format for the draw is set out in order to achieve as such.

The Round of 16 will comprise three all-Member Federation matches, one all Hyundai A-League fixture and four Member Federation v Hyundai A-League encounters.

In order to maintain consistency with the format of the Round of 32 draw, the process for the last 16 will involve drawing six balls out of Pot B (home and then away) to determine the three all-Member Federation matches, two balls out of Pot A (home and then away) to determine the one all-Hyundai A-League match before drawing the remaining balls – one from Pot B (home) and then one from Pot A (away) – to determine the four Member Federation v Hyundai A-League matches.

FFA Hall of Champions inductee, dual Joe Marston medallist and former Socceroo Alex Tobin, who also won three NSL championships during his playing days with Adelaide City, will conduct the draw together with former Adelaide United and Sydney FC midfielder Paul Reid, while Fox Sports football personality Michael Zappone will again host proceedings.

The Westfield FFA Cup 2014 draw will be shown LIVE on Fox Sports News (Channel 513) and also streamed online at

Once the draw has been conducted, the specific match details in regards to dates, venues, kick-off times and broadcast details will be announced on Monday 25 August 2014 following contemplation with the competition’s official broadcast partner Fox Sports and the home clubs.

The eight matches in the Westfield FFA Cup Round of 16 will consist of four matches a night across two nights, scheduled for Tuesday 16 September and Tuesday 23 September.

Fox Sports will broadcast a match on both nights of the Round of 16 and then every match from the Quarter Finals onwards.

Westfield FFA Cup – Round of 16 Draw

5.15pm AEST, Friday 22 August 2014

Coverage: LIVE on Fox Sports News (Channel 513) and streamed online at


Pot A (6 Hyundai A-League clubs)

1 Adelaide United – Twitter: @adelutd_fc

2 Brisbane Roar – Twitter: @brisbaneroar

3 Central Coast Mariners – Twitter: @CCMariners

4 Melbourne Victory – Twitter: @gomvfc

5 Perth Glory – Twitter: @PerthGloryFC

6 Sydney FC – Twitter: @SydneyFC

Pot B (10 Member Federation clubs)

7 Tuggeranong United (ACT) – Twitter: @tufc_tuggies

8 Sydney Olympic (NSW) – Twitter: @sydneyolympic

9 Sydney United 58 FC (NSW) – Twitter: @SydUtd58FC

10 Brisbane Strikers (Qld) – Twitter: @BneStrikers

11 Olympic FC (Qld) – Twitter: @Olympic_FC

12 Palm Beach Sharks (Qld) – Twitter: @PalmBeachSC1

13 Adelaide City (SA) – Twitter: @AdelaideCityFC

14 Bentleigh Greens (Vic) – Twitter: @BentleighGreens

15 South Springvale (Vic) – Twitter: @southspringvale

16 St Albans Saints (Vic) – Twitter: @albans_st

Round of 16 Draw Process

1 Pot B (6 balls drawn alternatively out of Pot B)

Home then Away for the three (3) Member Federation v Member Federation matches

2 Pot A (2 balls drawn alternatively out of Pot A)

Home then Away for the one (1) Hyundai A-League v Hyundai A-League match

3 Pot B & A (remaining balls will be drawn alternatively from Pot B and Pot A)

Home (Pot B) then Away (Pot A) for the four (4) Member Federation v Hyundai A-League matches

Sign up to receive the official newsletter of the Westfield FFA Cup