Explaining the FFA Cup 2021 Round of 16 draw

The FFA Cup looks a bit different in 2021, with a number of changes made to combat further disruption from lockdowns and border closures around the country. 

The first change was to amend the draw principles, breaking the Round of 32 into four regionalised zones. The format has also been extended into the Round of 16, with teams from Queensland (QLD), Western Australia (WA) and South Australia (SA) pitted against each other.

This change allowed the FFA Cup Round of 32 to commence in Queensland and Western Australia, while we await further details on roadmaps out of lockdown to be provided for other states. 

With Brisbane Roar FC, Gold Coast Knights, Lions FC, Adelaide United & one of ECU Joondalup and Adelaide Olympic progressing to the Round of 16, and other states yet to be scheduled, the decision has been made to proceed with Round of 16 matches in states where it is currently safe to do so. The intention is for these matches to take place in late October before the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), New South Wales (NSW), Tasmania (TAS) and Victoria (VIC) based zones commence their Round of 32 matches throughout November.

Football Australia will conduct the draw for the Round of 16 matches for the North and West (QLD/SA/WA), which will take place this Thursday, 30 September. 

With states now looking to implement their roadmaps out of lockdown in the coming weeks, Football Australia will be aiming to confirm match details for the fixtures being hosted in NSW, ACT and VIC for the respective Play Offs & remaining Round of 32 matches. 

Being the highest-level national cup competition in the country, four Victorian clubs supported by Football Australia and the Victorian Government, will begin training across the next two weeks in preparation for their respective Round of 32 FFA Cup Final Rounds campaigns.

Work continues in respect to the return to training for NSW based clubs in the Round of 32, and it is hoped that this can happen as soon as possible. 

The return to training is integral to ensure that all clubs have ample preparations, after a prolonged time off.

The competition is intended to be fully open from the Quarter Finals onwards, with Football Australia remaining flexible and agile with scheduling, all the way up to the Final. 

Details for the Round of 16 draw (North & West Zone):
Date: Thursday, 30 September
Time: 1:30pm AEST
How to watch: LIVE on FFA Cup Facebook & My Football YouTube 

Clubs involved in the draw: 

  • Brisbane Roar FC
  • Gold Coast Knights
  • Lions FC
  • Adelaide United
  • Adelaide Olympic
  • Adelaide City/Winner of Perth Glory v Melbourne Victory