Re-live Westfield FFA Cup final 2014

We’ll crown a new winner of the Westfield FFA Cup on November 30 as Melbourne City hosts Sydney FC at AAMI Park, but it was Adelaide United that created Australian football history in 2014 by claiming the inaugural Cup final trophy.

On a momentous night for the game at a packed-out Coopers Stadium, the Reds prevailed 1-0 in the fiery final over 10-man Perth Glory.

It was a hard-fought contest with few chances at either end but the Cup final swung in the home side’s favour just before the hour mark.

Re-live the game in our Match Centre right here

That’s when Perth Glory and current Caltex Socceroo defender Josh Risdon was sent off for a second yellow card after tugging back Marcelo Carrusca near the sideline.

Josh Risdon leaves the field after being sent off against Adelaide United.

Having been booked just before the break for an earlier foul on the Argentine, Risdon’s moment of madness allowed the Reds to press home their advantage.

And just nine minutes later Adelaide United got the breakthrough.

Sergio Cirio, a scorer in every round of the competition in the lead-up to the final, proved the hero with a superb finish.

Capping a characteristically sweet chain of passes, Carrusca played in Cirio with pinpoint perfection on the edge of the box, with the Spanish winger dancing past Perth skipper Michael Thwaite.

He then threaded home the title clincher with a classy finish from a tight angle around Danny Vukovic.

Cirio celebrates after scoring against Perth Glory.

Despite their disadvantage, Perth were gallant to the end and never threw in the towel but it wasn't enough to prevent United claiming South Australia a first piece of football silverware since the Hyundai A-League's first Premiers' Plate in the 2005/06 Season. 

Cirio, a favourite of the Reds faithful and coach Josep Gombau, deservedly took out the inaugural Mark Viduka medal as the player of the final.