Thunder and Fury storm into next round

A dramatic extra-time winner has helped SWQ Thunder past a resilient West Wanderers 1-0 in Westfield FFA Cup qualifying on Wednesday night.

A hard-fought contest appeared headed for a penalty shoot-out until Nykodah Smith struck in the 113th minutes.

Smith scored his third goal of the season, hitting a powerful drive from the edge of the box to ensure Thunder is the last team alive from the South West Queensland Zone.

They take on the Gold Coast Zone qualifiers, last year’s Westfield FFA Cup quarter-finalists Palm Beach Sharks.

Fury advance to face the winner of the Far North Queensland Zones clash between FNQ Heat and Stratford FC.

Kawana were also rampant in their clash with Noosa Lions, outing on a second-half clinic to win 5-1.

Scores were locked at 1-1 at the break before Kawana scored four times in 21 minutes to complete a crushing victory.

Sunshine Coast golden-boot leader Ryan Delahunty continued his fine season with a brace, while Jeremy Stewart, Aidan Little and DJ Firth scored the other goals.