Westfield FFA Cup Final 2016 squads

History will be made tomorrow night (Wednesday 30 November 2016) when Melbourne City FC and Sydney FC meet in the Westfield FFA Cup Final 2016 at AAMI Park attempting to etch their name on the trophy for the first time.

In the nationwide knockout competition that began with 701 clubs competing in 2016, Melbourne City FC and Sydney FC are the last two standing for what looms as a Westfield FFA Cup Final of epic proportions between the two sides that currently occupy first and second on the Hyundai A-League table.

Westfield FFA Cup preview: Melbourne City v Sydney FC

The Sky Blues, who sit four points clear on top of the Hyundai A-League after eight rounds having won their first six matches, also carry with them a formidable Cup record into the decider.

Graham Arnold’s team have scored 11 goals and are yet to concede on their road to the Westfield FFA Cup Final 2016, their wins coming against the Wollongong Wolves, Perth Glory, Blacktown City and Canberra Olympic.

Road to 2016 Westfield FFA Cup Final: Sydney FC

Sydney FC players celebrate a goal in the Semi-Final win over Canberra Olympic.

Melbourne City FC also enter the Cup Final in ominous form. Coming into the match on the back of a win over Wellington Phoenix in the Hyundai A-League on Sunday, the Victorian club’s Westfield FFA Cup run has gathered steam the longer it has gone.

Narrow 2-1 victories over Floreat Athena and Brisbane Strikers were followed by convincing wins over Western Sydney Wanderers FC in the last eight and crosstown rivals Melbourne Victory in the Semi Finals.

Road to 2016 Westfield FFA Cup Final: Melbourne City

Both teams boast formidable threats up front and players that have the ability to win the game off their own boot and produce that piece of magic that could decide the contest.

Chasing their first piece of silverware, Melbourne City FC are desperate to win, while it has been six years since Sydney FC last won a trophy.

Melbourne City

A record Westfield FFA Cup crowd is expected on Wednesday evening and with the form both clubs are in, coupled with the intriguing individual duels set to take place right across the field, the third Westfield FFA Cup Final has all of the elements of being a classic.

The player adjudged to be best on the field will be awarded the Mark Viduka Medal. Previous winners of the Mark Viduka Medal are Sergio Cirio (Adelaide United) and Kosta Barbarouses (Melbourne Victory).

The Westfield FFA Cup Final 2016 will be LIVE and exclusive on FOX SPORTS 4 (Channel 505) from 7pm AEDT.

Tickets for the match are available at www.theffacup.com.au/tickets

FFA Cup Final 2016

Westfield FFA Cup Final 2016

Melbourne City FC v Sydney FC

Wednesday 30 November 2016

AAMI Park, Melbourne

Kick-off: 7:30pm local (7:30pm AEDT)

Referee: Peter Green

Assistant Referee 1Paul Cetrangolo

Assistant Referee 2: Nathan MacDonald

Fourth Official: Luke Brennan

AAR 1: Alan Milliner

AAR 2: Rebecca Durcau

Tickets: Click here to purchase tickets

TV Broadcast: 7.00pm (AEDT) Live and exclusive on FOX SPORTS 4 (Channel 505)

Radio Broadcast: 774 ABC Melbourne, 702 ABC Sydney, ABC Local Radio VIC/NSW, Grandstand Digital, Online & via the ABC Radio Mobile App – A-league Live, 1116 SEN (Melbourne), EON Sports Radio (eonsportsradio.com)

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #FFACupFinal

Melbourne City FC squad: 1.Thomas SORENSEN (GK), 2.Manny MUSCAT, 3.Josh ROSE, 4.Connor CHAPMAN, 5.Ivan FRANJIC, 6. Osama MALIK, 8.Neil KILKENNY, 9.Nicolas COLAZO, 10.Anthony CACERES, 11.Bruce KAMAU, 12.Nick FITZGERALD, 17.Tim CAHILL, 18.Paulo RETRE, 20.Dean BOUZANIS (GK), 22.Michael JAKOBSEN, 23.Bruno FORNAROLI (C), 26.Luke BRATTAN, 27.Fernando BRANDAN

**two to be omitted**

Unavailable: 7.Corey GAMEIRO (ACL – season), 28.Steve KUZMANOVSKI (ACL – season)

Sydney FC squad: 4.Alex WILKINSON, 5.Matt JURMAN, 6.Josh BRILLANTE, 7.Michael ZULLO, 8.Milos DIMITRIJEVIC, 9.BOBÔ, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 11.Bernie IBINI, 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 14.Alex BROSQUE (c), 17.David CARNEY, 18.Matt SIMON, 19.George BLACKWOOD, 20.Danny VUKOVIC (gk), 21.Filip HOLOSKO, 22.Sebastian RYALL, 23.Rhyan GRANT, 30.Mitch EVANS (gk)

**two to be omitted**

Unavailable: 1.Vedran JANJETOVIC (gk) (personal leave – indefinite), 40.Chris OLDFIELD (gk) (Cup-tied)