Westfield FFA Cup Quarter Finals: MD1 Preview

The first two semi-finalists in the Westfield FFA Cup 2017 will be determined on Wednesday evening when Hyundai A-League giants Sydney FC and Melbourne City FC collide at Leichhardt Oval, and PS4 NPL Victoria heavyweights Heidelberg United FC host the inaugural Westfield FFA Cup Champions Adelaide United at Olympic Village.

PREVIEW: Heidelberg v Adelaide

PREVIEW: Sydney v City

Graham Arnold’s men will be out to exact a measure of revenge against City at their temporary home ground in Lilyfield after Melbourne City FC defeated the Sky Blues 1-0 in last year’s Westfield FFA Cup Final played in the Victorian capital.

Sydney FC earned their place in the Quarter Finals of the Westfield FFA Cup 2017 following strong wins over Darwin Rovers in the Round of 32 and Bankstown Berries in the Round of 16.

Melbourne City FC booked their Quarter Finals place courtesy of triumphs over Peninsula Power in the Round of 32 and Hakoah Sydney City East in the Round of 16.

Wednesday’s match could feature the return of Caltex Socceroos star Tim Cahill to Westfield FFA Cup action.

Cahill, who scored the winner in last year’s Westfield FFA Cup Final, missed City’s 3-2 win over Hakoah Sydney City East in the Round of 16 due to his involvement with Australia’s national team.

In the other Quarter Finals encounter to be played tomorrow evening Heidelberg United FC will be seeking to bounce back swiftly from their PS4 NPL Victoria Grand Final defeat against Bentleigh Greens on Sunday.

Heidelberg host Adelaide United in the Westfield FFA Cup quarter final on Wednesday night.

The ‘Bergers’ were forced to play 120 minutes of football on Sunday evening in the lead up to their Westfield FFA Cup 2017 Quarter Finals clash against Marco Kurz’s Reds.

Heidelberg sealed their spot in the Westfield FFA Cup 2017 Quarter Finals after defeating Perth Glory from the Hyundai A-League in the Round of 32, and Sydney United 58 FC on penalties in the Round of 16.

Adelaide United advanced to the Quarter Finals of this year’s Westfield FFA Cup at the expense of two of their Hyundai A-League rivals. The Reds eliminated 2015 winners Melbourne Victory in the Round of 16, and Newcastle Jets in the Round of 32.

Wednesday night’s clash between Sydney FC and Melbourne City FC will be broadcast LIVE and exclusive in full on FOX SPORTS, while Heidelberg’s home match against Adelaide will be streamed LIVE on the foxsports.com.au website. FOX SPORTS will also provide crosses to the Heidelberg v Adelaide clash.

Both of Wednesday’s Westfield FFA Cup 2017 Quarter Finals will kick off at 7:30pm (AEST).

To purchase tickets to Westfield FFA Cup 2017 matches please visit: www.theffacup.com.au/tickets.

Sydney FC v Melbourne City FC

Wednesday 13 September 2017

Leichhardt Oval, Lilyfield, New South Wales

Kick-off: 7:30pm local (7:30pm AEST)

Referee: Kris Griffiths-Jones

Assistant Referee 1: Lance Greenshields

Assistant Referee 2: Scott Edeling

Fourth Official: Ben Abraham

Sydney FC will host Melbourne City in the Quarter Finals.

Tickets: Click here for ticketing details

TV Broadcast: 7.00pm (AEST) - LIVE and exclusive on FOX SPORTS

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hashtags #SYDvMCY #FFACup

Sydney FC Squad: 1. Andrew Redmayne (GK), 2. Aaron Calver, 3. Samuel McIllhatton, 4. Alexander Wilkinson, 5. Jordy Buijs, 6. Joshua Brillante, 7. Michael Zullo, 8. Paulo Retre, 9. Deyvison Rogerio Da Silva, 10. Milos Ninkovic, 11. Adrian Mierzejewski, 13. Brandon O'Neill, 14. Alex Brosque, 17. David Carney, 18. Matthew Simon, 19. Christopher Zuvela, 20. Aleksander Cisak (GK), 21. Charles Lokoli Ngoy, 22. Sebastian Ryall, 25. John Iredale,  26. Luke Wilkshire, 29. Cristian Gonzalez, 30. Thomas Heward-Belle (GK), 31. Patrick Flottmann

Melbourne City FC Squad: 1. Dean Bouzanis (GK), 2. Emmanuel Muscat, 3.Scott Jamieson, 5. Bart Schenkeveld, 6. Osama Malik, 7. Nick Fitzgerald, 8. Neil Kilkenny, 9. Marcelo Carrusca, 11. Bruce Kamau, 12. Braedyn Crowley, 13. Stefan Mauk, 14. Daniel Arzani, 15. Denis Genreau, 17. Timothy Cahill, 18. Eugene Galekovic (GK), 21. Ruon Tongyik, 22. Michael Jakobsen, 25. Iacopo La Rocca, 26. Luke Brattan, 35. Ramy Najjarine, 36. Dylan Pierias, 37. Nathaniel Atkinson, 38. Joshua Cavallo, 40. Yaren Sozer (GK) 42. James Delianov (GK)

Heidelberg United FC v Adelaide United

Wednesday 13 September 2017

Olympic Village, Heidelberg, Victoria

Kick-off: 7:30pm local (7:30pm AEST)

Referee: Daniel Elder

Assistant Referee 1: Wilson Brown

Assistant Referee 2: Daniel Ilevski

Fourth Official: Lachlan Keevers

Adelaide United players Jordan O'Doherty and Ben Garuccio thank the fans after their win over Melbourne Victory.

Tickets: Click here for ticketing details

Livestream: 7.30pm (AEST) - LIVE and exclusive on foxsports.com.au

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hashtags #HFCvADL #FFACup

Heidelberg United FC Squad:
1. Christopher Theodoridis-Petropoulos (GK), 2. Joshua Wilkins, 3. Leslie Doumbalis, 4. Jordan Wilkes, 6. Lewis Hall, 7. Reuben Way, 8. Andrew Cartanos, 9. Adrian Zahra, 10. Jack Petrie, 11. Kostas Kanakaris, 12. Ken Athiu, 13. Luke Byles, 14. Harry Noon, 15. Paul O'Brien, 17. Steven Pace, 19. Sean Ellis, 22. Alexander Schiavo, 23. Christian Pavlidis (GK)

Adelaide United Squad: 1. Daniel Margush (GK), 2. Michael Marrone, 4. Benjamin Warland, 5. Taylor Regan, 6. Vince Lia, 7. Ryan Kitto, 8. Isaias Sanchez Cortes, 9. Papa Babacar Diawara, 10. Karim Matmour, 11. Johan Absalonsen, 12. Mark Ochieng, 14. George Blackwood, 16. Nathan Konstandopoulos, 17. Nikola Mileusnic, 18. Lachlan Brook, 19. Benjamin Garuccio, 20. Paul Izzo (GK), 22. Ersan Gulum, 23. Jordan Elsey, 24. Jordan O'Doherty, 25. Apostolos Stamatelopoulos, 26. Blake Carpenter, 27. Paul Wilson, 30. Isaac Richards (GK), 31. Joshua Mori (GK)