About the Competition

What is the FFA Cup?

The FFA Cup is a national knockout tournament run by Football Australia in conjunction with every State and Territory Member Federation in the country.

The competition commences with the Preliminary Rounds before moving into the Final Rounds (from the Round of 32 onwards), the stage when the A-League clubs join the fray.

Each and every cup tie must be decided on the day, with extra time and penalties to decide results of matches drawn after 90 minutes.

2019 saw a new record of FFA Cup entrants, with 736 clubs around the country competing in the Preliminary Rounds. That total increased to 736 clubs with the inclusion of the ten A-League clubs and the reigning NPL Champions of Australia, who received automatic entry to the Round of 32.

Final Rounds - how the draw works

2019 Draw 1
2019 draw 2


To download a PDF version of the FFA Cup 2019 'Final Rounds Draw Process' click here.

1. How are the slots for the Round of 32 decided?

Each state and territory is allocated a number of slots in the Round of 32, based on the number of registered players and number of each Member Federation’s entrants in the Preliminary Rounds. Each state and territory decides the qualification route.

The FFA Cup became a truly national competition in 2015 when the Northern Territory started to participate in the Preliminary Rounds (pre Round of 32) and were granted a slot in the Round of 32.

The decision in regards to determining the number of slots each Member Federation receives is made after a review of the previous year and feedback received from the FFA Cup Advisory Committee which is comprised of representatives from the Member Federations, Hyundai A-League clubs, the Professional Footballers Association and FFA.

In 2015 the competition also saw the start of an automatic Round of 32 slot being allocated to the reigning National Premier Leagues Champions of Australia.

The final allocation for the Round of 32 in 2018 comprises:

Twenty-two (22) Member Federation clubs comprising:

• Football NSW - 5 clubs
• Football Federation Victoria - 4 clubs
• Football Queensland - 4 clubs
• Football West - 2 clubs
• Northern NSW Football - 2 clubs
• Capital Football - 1 club
• Football Federation SA - 1 club
• Football Federation Tasmania - 1 club
• Football Federation Northern Territory - 1 club
• National Premier Leagues Champion - 1 club
• All ten Hyundai A-League clubs

3. What are the Preliminary Round dates and formats for each State and Territory?

Each Member Federation’s entrants in the Round of 32 will be decided on or before the following dates:

Member Federation


Football Queensland

Monday 3 June

Football NSW

Wednesday 5 June

Football Tasmania

Monday 10 June

Football Victoria

Wednesday 12 June

Northern NSW Football

Thursday 13 June

Capital Football (ACT)

Saturday 15 June

Football West

Sunday 16 June

Football Northern Territory

Tuesday 25 June

Football Federation South Australia

Saturday 22 June

*Dates are subject to change

4. What are the possible dates of the FFA Cup 2019 Final Round matches?

Round of 32
Tues July 23 / Wed 7 August 2019

Round of 16
Tues August 20 / Wed August 28 2019

Quarter Finals
Tues 17 September / Wed 18 September 2019

Semi Finals
Tues 1 October 2019
Wed 2 October 2019

Cup Final
Wednesday 23 October 2019

5. What are the Draw Principles for the FFA Cup Draw?

The Draw Principles seek to enable fixtures between Hyundai A-League and semi-pro and amateur clubs throughout the draw. In addition, the Draw Principles balance the vagaries of different season schedules between the professional tier (predominantly summer) and the non-professional tiers (predominantly winter).

Further, the Draw Principles take into account the impact of Hyundai A-League finals and Asian Champions League commitments. For the live Round of 32 draw, there are two Pots from which the participating clubs will be drawn as follows: Pot A - the ten Hyundai A-League clubs Pot B - 22 qualified Member Federation clubs Clubs will be drawn from Pots in chronological order as determined by the Round of 32 match schedule until all Clubs have been allocated a fixture. For the Round of 16 draw, Quarter Finals and Semi Finals, clubs will be allocated into one of two Pots for the Live Draws: Pot A - Hyundai A-League clubs, Pot B - Member Federation clubs

6. Why does the FFA Cup draw produce a Semi FInal with at least one Member Federation Club?

The Draw Principles provide for at least one Member Federation club to qualify for the FFA Cup Semi Finals. It is important that the FFA Cup is differentiated from existing competitions and provides a genuine opportunity for grassroots and NPL clubs to compete on the national stage.

Member Federation club(s) that progress to the FFA Cup Semi Finals will have earned their berth. In order for a Member Federation club to qualify for the Semi Final of the FFA Cup, the club would have already had to, firstly, qualify via their relevant State Cup and, secondly, win three FFA Cup Final Round matches.

7. Why is Wellington Phoenix participating in the FFA Cup?

As a club licensed by FFA to participate in the Hyundai A-League, Wellington Phoenix should be afforded the same opportunity as other Hyundai A-League clubs to play in the FFA Cup. As a professional club, Wellington Phoenix is not able to play in New Zealand Football's Chatham Cup.

In accordance with FIFA Regulations, Wellington Phoenix's participation in the FFA Cup has been approved by FIFA, the AFC, the OFC and New Zealand Football.

Wellington Phoenix will play all FFA Cup matches in Australia.

8. Will FFA cover the costs of travel for competing Clubs?

FFA will cover reasonable flights, ground transport and accommodation for a travelling party of 21 for each travelling Away club.

9. Who retains the rights to ticket revenue?

The home club will incur applicable venue hosting costs and receive all associated ticket revenue, excluding the FFA Cup Final which will be run by FFA.

10. How will the home Clubs be determined?

Where matches involve Member Federation clubs only, the first drawn club will be given hosting rights. Where matches involve a Member Fededation club and a Hyundai A-League club, the Member Federation club will be given the right to host. Where both clubs involved are Hyundai A-League clubs, the first drawn club will have hosting rights.

11. Will suburban grounds be able to meet the FFA Cup Venue and Security Standards for broadcast matches?

FFA wants to embrace the unique atmosphere of cup competitions and play as many FFA Cup matches at suburban grounds as possible. However, each venue will need to meet appropriate Minimum Venue and Security Standards that will be in place for the FFA Cup.

12. Why are all matches scheduled to be played on a Tuesday or Wednesday night?

This creates consistency for the viewer and fan to identify with Tuesday or Wednesday nights as the nights to watch the FFA Cup.

For player welfare reasons, matches may be rescheduled depending on the league fixtures of the participating clubs.

13. Where will be FFA Cup Final be played?

Similar to the Hyundai A-League Grand Final, the venue for the Cup Final will be determined in the interest of FFA, competing clubs, their members and supporters.

14. Will Western United compete in the FFA Cup 2019 Final Rounds?

The Round of 32 of the FFA Cup 2019 will contain 10 Hyundai A-League clubs (Western United FC will not participate this year), the 2018 NPL Champion (Campbelltown City SC from South Australia), as well as 21 clubs from the 737 that have entered from across Australia.