2018 FFA Cup Round of 32 draw revealed

The Magic of the Cup has thrown up a huge local derby with NSW NPL club Rockdale City Suns to take on reigning champions Sydney FC in just one of a host of mouth-watering match-ups after the draw for the FFA Cup Round of 32 on Tuesday night.

The draw was conducted in Sydney by former Central Coast Mariners striker Daniel McBreen and Blacktown City star Danny Choi, who scored one of the greatest goals ever scored in the FFA Cup.

And the draw threw up some intriguing ties.

The other three ties pitting a Member Federation club against a Hyundai A-League club sees Northern Territory’s Hellenic Athletic take on Western Sydney Wanderers, 2014 semi-finalists Bentleigh Greens hosting Wellington Phoenix and the Gold Coast Knights coming up against Newcastle Jets.

There’s a replay of the 2015 FFA Cup Final with Perth Glory hosting Melbourne Victory, while one of the highly-anticipated all-Member Federation ties sees Victoria’s Avondale go up against NSW outfit Marconi Stallions.

The other all-Hyundai A-League ties sees Brisbane Roar do battle with Melbourne City, while Adelaide United hosts Central Coast Mariners.

Other fascinating all-Member Federation ties include Heidelberg United v Charlestown City Blues, Port Melbourne Sharks going up against APIA Leichhardt Tigers and an all-Queensland clash between Lions FC and Olympic FC.


  • Adelaide United v Central Coast Mariners
  • Perth Glory v Melbourne Victory
  • Brisbane Roar v Melbourne City
  • Northcote City FC v Devonport Strikers
  • Port Melbourne Sharks v APIA Leichhardt Tigers
  • Lions FC v Olympic FC
  • Heidelberg United v Charlestown City Blues
  • Gwelup Croatia v Adelaide Comets
  • Canberra FC v Broadmeadow Magic
  • Cairns FC v Armadale SC
  • Bonnyrigg White Eagles v Hakoah Sydney City East
  • Avondale FC v Marconi Stallions
  • Hellenic Athletic v Western Sydney Wanderers
  • Gold Coast Knights v Newcastle Jets
  • Bentleigh Greens v Wellington Phoenix
  • Rockdale City Suns v Sydney FC
FFA Cup trophy


  • The Round of 32 fixtures will be played over four match nights (Tuesday or Wednesday) between 24 July and 8 August (four matches per night).
  • The Round of 16 to be played on two match nights between 21 August and 29 August.
  • The Quarter Finals – which will be played on two match nights between 18 September and 26 September – have been shifted from last year to avoid a crossover with Member Federation National Premier Leagues (NPL) Grand Finals, as well as September’s FIFA International Window.
  • The Semi-Finals will be played on a stand-alone weekend in early (6-7) October, two weeks prior to the commencement of the Hyundai A-League 2018/19 Season.
  • The FFA Cup Final 2018 will be played in October for the first time, with the evening of Wednesday, 31 October locked in for the competition’s showpiece.


FOX SPORTS will again provide comprehensive coverage from the Round of 32 onwards.

The FFA Cup’s official broadcaster will show one LIVE match per match night while providing coverage and updates, as well as live streams, of all non-broadcast matches.

Details regarding the FOX SPORTS broadcast and streaming will be announced closer to the start of the Round of 32.

Keep an eye on the official site - www.theffacup.com.aufor more information.

Sydney FC lifting the 2017 FFA Cup trophy
Sydney FC celebrate winning the 2017 FFA Cup.