Cup preview: Perth Glory v Melbourne Victory

Sharpshooters Berisha and Keogh on the same pitch? Barbarouses versus Jamieson? Add a semi-final spot on the line and this has all the hallmarks of a Cup cracker. There might even be a shootout in the West?


Wednesday, 29 October 2014

nib Stadium, Perth

Kick-off: 7:00pm local (10:00pm AEDT)

Referee: Alan Milliner

Assistant Referee 1: Tim Mihevc

Assistant Referee 2: Josh Mannella

Fourth Official: Mathew Cheeseman

AAR 1: Adam Fielding

AAR 2: David Bruce

Tickets: Click here to purchase tickets

TV broadcast: LIVE and exclusive on FOX SPORTS 3 and 3HD

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #PERvMVC

Perth Glory squad: 1.Daniel VUKOVIC (GK) 2.Jack CLISBY, 3.Brandon O’NEILL, 5.Rostyn GRIFFITHS, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Youssouf HERSI, 9.Andy KEOGH, 10.Nebosja MARINKOVIC, 11.Richard GARCIA, 13.Diogo FERREIRA, 15.Jamie MACLAREN, 17.Mitch NICHOLS, 18.Jack DUNCAN (GK), 19 Josh RISDON, 20.Daniel DE SILVA, 21.Scott JAMIESON, 23.Michael THWAITE (c), 24.Matt DAVIES

**two to be omitted**

Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Nathan COE (GK), 5.Mark MILLIGAN (c), 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Guilherme FINKLER, 8.Besart BERISHA, 9.Kosta BARBAROUSES, 10.Archie THOMPSON, 11.Connor PAIN, 13.Andrew NABBOUT, 14.Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH, 15.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 17.Matthieu DELPIERRE, 18.Dylan MURNANE, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (GK), 21.Carl VALERI, 22.Jesse MAKAROUNAS, 23.Adrian LEIJER, 24.Scott GALLOWAY

**two to be omitted**


Can Perth pick themselves up from their first defeat of the season to halt the Melbourne Victory juggernaut and register a huge Cup win?

Up until Sunday’s 2-0 defeat to Adelaide United, the Glory had been most impressive over the first fortnight of the Hyundai A-League with wins over Wellington Phoenix and Brisbane Roar.

That momentum is now well-and-truly with Kevin Muscat’s outfit who trounced local rivals Melbourne City 5-2 and have scored 10 goals in just three games this season.

Will Perth be able to contain Victory’s wealth of options in attack? Muscat may spare some of his starters the long trip West but the visitors have plenty of firepower in their ranks.

Striker Besart Berisha is flying after a hat-trick in the derby, while veteran Archie Thompson is in good form and scored a brace in that match.

But Kosta Barbarouses has also been in devastating form down the right flank – providing three assists against City – and his battle with Glory’s Scott Jamieson down that flank will be intriguing.

The likes of Fahid Ben Khalfallah, Connor Pain and Leigh Broxham can’t force their way into the starting XI at the moment which underlines Victory’s depth.

Kenny Lowe will demand more energy from his side, who were uncharacteristically subdued in going down to the Reds at Coopers Stadium.

But they have been impressive in both their previous Westfield FFA Cup contests and are always tough to beat on home soil.

Striker Andy Keogh looms as a key figure and he is sure to give Victory centre-backs Adrian Leijer and Matthieu Delpierre a busy night.

Winger Youssouf Hersi started off the bench on Sunday but could be unleashed from the start while Mitch Nichols will be keen to get one over his former club.

Will it be Victory’s all-out attack or the Glory’s more disciplined, structured style that will win out in the battle of two Hyundai A-League powerhouses fighting for a spot in the last four of the Cup?