Preview: ​Brisbane Roar FC v Perth Glory

Brisbane Roar FC v Perth Glory

Wednesday 10 August 2016

Ballymore Stadium, Herston (QLD)

Kick-off: 7:30pm local (7:30pm AEST)

Referee: Chris Beath

Assistant Referee 1David Walsh

Assistant Referee 2: Andrew Lindsay

Fourth Official: Rebecca Durcau

Tickets: Click here for ticketing details

Online Broadcast: Streamed online at and Apple TV via FOX SPORTS Now

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tags #BRIvPER #FFACup

Brisbane Roar FC squad:  1.Michael Theo (gk), 4.Daniel Bowles, 5.Corey Brown, 7.Thomas Kristensen, 8.Jacob Pepper, 9.Jamie Maclaren, 11.Tommy Oar, 13.Jade North, 17.Matt McKay, 19.Jack Hingert, 21.Jamie Young (gk), 22.Thomas Broich, 23.Dimitri Petratos, 24.Connor O’Toole, 25.Kye Rowles, 26.Nicholas D’Agostino, 28.Brandon Borrello, 30.Nathan Konstandopoulos, 33.Joey Katebian, 35.Cameron Crestani, 37.Mark Rodic, 40.Joey Champness, 42.Jayden Prasad

Perth Glory squad:  2.Alex Grant, 3.Marc Warren, 4.Shane Lowry, 5.Rhys Williams, 6.Dino Djulbic, 8.Rostyn Griffiths, 9.Andy Keogh, 10.Nebojsa Marinkovic, 11.Richard Garcia, 14.Chris Harold, 15.Brandon Wilson, 16.Joseph Mills, 17.Diego Castro, 18.Mitch Oxborrow, 19.Josh Risdon, 20.Aryn Williams, 21.Jamal Reiners, 22.Adam Taggart, 23.Kosta Petratos, 28.Joseph Knowles, 29.Ross Millard, 30.Jordan Thurtell (gk), 33.Liam Reddy (gk), 40.Nick Feely (gk)

Brisbane Roar

Bluffer's Guide

A week after the city of Brisbane witnessed the biggest upset in FFA Cup history, the Queensland capital hosts two Hyundai A-League sides at Ballymore.

And the visitors know plenty a lot about this competition having reached the last two finals. You sense this year they will threaten again in this the club's 20th anniversary year.

These top six teams from last season have had contrasting off-seasons.

For Perth, this clash will be an early gauge on just how strong this squad is after excellent recruitment (Rhys Williams, Adam Taggart, Rostyn Griffiths, Liam Reddy and others).

Kenny Lowe's men have had good preparation, too.

A three game tour of the Philippines in July began with a goalless draw against Global FC, followed by a 2-1 victory over the UFL All-Stars and a 2-0 win over the Philippines national team.

And though star man Diego Castro won't arrive back in Perth till the end of the month, Andy Keogh, Taggart and Chris Harold pose a potent frontline, while former ECU Joondalup youngster Joe Knowles has looked good in pre-season.

Perth Glory

Glory coach Kenny Lowe has put his faith in local talent with more than half his squad now hailing from the state of Western Australia.

It's a powerful statement of faith as the club looks to end their Hyundai A-League trophy drought. 

Brisbane have lost Corona, Devante Clut and Javier Hervas, but new Danish signing Thomas Kristensen has a strong pedigree as a box-to-box midfielder and adds to their depleted stocks in the centre of the park. 

Roar were defeated by Wanderers 2-1 on the Gold Coast in their first pre-season hit-out on July 29 but retain a strong nucleus including current Socceroos Matt McKay and Jamie Maclaren.

And a win would be ideal in putting the focus back on the football after a tough week for this big club.

See how both teams fared in their latest games