Brisbane Strikers Ultimate Guide: Back in the national spotlight

After a short absence from Australia’s biggest knockout competition, Brisbane Strikers are back on the national stage and ready for a shot at Hyundai A-League opposition.

The Strikers were involved in the first three editions of the FFA Cup in the Round of 32 and will take on Ufuk Talay’s Wellington Phoenix on August 7. 

Coach Owen Baker’s side have been a little inconsistent in the Queensland NPL in 2019 but have often saved their best for sudden-death football, including their 5-1 drubbing of Gold Coast Knights to punch their ticket to the Round of 32.

ADELAIDE OLYMPIC GUIDE: Debutants ready to make an impression
BAYSWATER CITY GUIDE: Riding the crest of a wave

A former NSL champion, Strikers are known for punching above their weight throughout the club’s 25-year existence and a meeting with the Phoenix won’t daunt them.

And with a goalkeeper named Bon Scott, expect rock ’n roll football from the men from Perry Park.

Header image courtesy of Brisbane Strikers 


Founded: 1994

Competition: National Premier Leagues Queensland

Home ground: Perry Park, Bowen Hills Qld

Honours: National Soccer League Champions 1996/97
Australian National Premier Leagues runners-up 2017
National Premier League Queensland Premiers 2016, 2017
Queensland State League Premiers 2009, 2012
Brisbane Premier League Champions 2006
Brisbane Premier League Premiers 2006

FFA Cup Experience: Round of 16 (2014 and 2016), Round of 32 (2015)

Brisbane Strikers
The Strikers almost pulled off an upset against Tim Cahill's Melbourne City back in 2016


Brisbane Strikers were born in 1994 in the old National Soccer League and steadily improved before making their mark on the national stage a few years later.  Led by Caltex Socceroo Frank Farina – who was player-coach – the Strikers won the NSL crown by beating Sydney United in the Grand Final.

CONFIRMED: FFA Cup 2019 Round of 32 Fixture Schedule
ROUND OF 32: Four fixtures you cannot afford to miss

The club were involved in the NSL right up until the competition’s demise in 2004, the club played in the Brisbane Premier League for a few years, winning the title in 2006, before moving into the Queensland State League.

After finishing Premiers in two of their five seasons in the state league, the Strikers have competed in the NPL since 2013, and have been premiers on two occasions (2016 and 17).

They are no strangers to the FFA Cup competition either, featuring in the first three editions of the tournament (2014-16), reaching the Round of 16 twice (2014 and 2016).

Key Players

There aren’t many deadlier strikers in the NPL this season than Strikers leading scorer Andrew Pengelly.

The Brisbane hit-man is a threat from anywhere around the penalty area and has scored an impressive 20 goals from 19 appearances in Queensland this season.

FLASHBACK: Five incredible FFA Cup giant-killings
SCHEDULE: Everything you need to know about the Final Rounds

Japanese import Hiroki Omori is another talent who knows what it takes to perform in the FFA Cup. Omori was part of the squad that was narrowly beaten by Melbourne City a few years ago and has trialled with Brisbane Roar in the past.

Get Onside Limitless banner

Round of 32 Match Details

Brisbane Strikers v Wellington Phoenix
Date: Wednesday, 7 August 2019
Venue: Perry Park, Brisbane
Kick-off: 7.30pm AEST
Click here for ticket details


Tip the winner
Brisbane Strikers
Brisbane Strikers
Wellington Phoenix
Wellington Phoenix